New Release

Norse Mythology for fans of Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, The Bloggess, and Calvin & Hobbes

Poor Odin only just started existing and already has a Universe to decorate, a smug Tree to ignore, and two competitive brothers who think they’d make better All-Fathers. His wife, who knows the future, won’t tell him a word because of his cheating, which he hasn’t even invented yet. Horrible things such as celery, mosquitoes, Loki’s dubious sense of humour, and people keep happening at him. The esteemed egg whisk and highly regarded feather duster? Not so much. There are only two sensible things Odin can do: 1) hang from the judgy Tree for nine days with a spear through his side and 2) drink from the Well of Wisdom, whose guardian, Sir Daddy Mímir, likes one-of-a-kind gifts. In his head, Odin’s idea seems wise…

Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Jenny Lawson, and Calvin & Hobbes, Why Odin Drinks is suitable for readers aged 14+. The book features no graphic content, although some characters wish it would.

‘A delightfully quirky satire I didn’t know I needed.’ – Jenny Lawson, author of Broken (In the Best Possible Way)
‘So, I loved it! Here’s my quote: “Funny, quirky and surreal, this is the Norse myth you’ve been craving.” Will it do?’ – Joanne Harris, author of The Gospel of Loki and Chocolate

Bjørn Larssen is…

a Norse heathen made in Poland, but mostly located in a Dutch suburb, except for his heart which he lost in Iceland. Born in 1977, he self-published his first graphic novel at the age of seven in a limited edition of one, following this achievement several decades later with his first book containing multiple sentences and winning awards he didn’t design himself. His writing is described as ‘dark’ and ‘literary’, but he remains incapable of taking anything seriously for more than 60 seconds.

Bjørn has a degree in mathematics and has worked as a graphic designer, a model, a bartender, and a blacksmith (not all at the same time). His hobbies include sitting by open fires, dressing like an extra from Vikings, installing operating systems, and dreaming about living in a log cabin in the north of Iceland.

Gripping historical suspense novel of Iceland

How do you win a game of ‘die, pray, or marry’ that you’re not allowed to play?

Iceland, 1920. Gunnar, a hermit blacksmith, dwells with his animals, darkness, and moonshine. The last thing he wants is an injured lodger, but his money may change Gunnar’s life. So might the stranger’s story – by ending it. That is, unless an unwanted marriage, God’s messengers’ sudden interest, an obnoxious elf, or his doctor’s guilt derail the narrative. Or will the demons from Gunnar’s past cut all the stories short?

Side effects of too much truth include death, but one’s true story is another’s game of lies. With so many eager to write his final chapter, can Gunnar find his own happy ending?

Bjørn Larssen’s award-winning, Amazon #1 best selling novel is an otherworldly, emotive Icelandic saga – a story of love and loneliness, relief and suffering, hatred… and hope.

‘These strange, sad, funny, murderous people will stay with me for a long time.’ – Annie Whitehead, author of The Sins of the Father

Eric Hoffer Grand Prize Award – Finalist
Readers’ Favorite Gold Medal – Historical Fiction
Discovered Diamond – Winner

Dark, literary Norse mythology retelling

Gods make lousy parents.

All Magni wants is peace and quiet, but when your father is the God of thunder, you don’t get to live the life you want. When Thor destroys all his son knows and loves, Magni vows to bring prosperity and end the violence… forever. But can you escape cruelty in a universe built on it, or the shadow of your father when everyone calls you by his name?

Maya, her rage more powerful than she knows, wants freedom to pursue her own destiny. Neither torture nor blackmail can make her obedient or pretty enough for Freya, her foster-mother and Goddess of love. Fighting for independence and revenge, can a mere human win a game where Gods dictate the rules?

2020 Stabby Nominee – Best Self-Published/Independent Novel
2022 Queer Indie Lit Award
2022 Picky Bookworm Award – Best Worldbuilding

‘This dark retelling of Asgard’s pantheon is no rosy Marvel Universe depiction, the violence and savagery of the deities and their contemporaries being on full display. […] Children is as actually less of a coming-of-age tale as it is a study of trauma, a commentary on classism and privilege, an observation on the expectations placed on each other by child and parent, and a questioning of what it says about us when one group of people can dehumanize another.’ – Grimdark Magazine

Sign up for my monthly(ish) newsletter to be notified about my upcoming releases, price promotions, interviews, guest posts, and receive extra content of various persuasions.

Scroll to Top